Posted in poetry

The One That Got Away

I watch you walk away from me

Without the slightest hesitation.

Oh love, won’t you stay for me?

Don’t leave me in starvation.

 

I did all I could do,

Put my heart on my sleeve.

All the hell I went through

Just to watch you leave.

 

For your affection is all I dared to ask.

You told me you weren’t capable

Of fulfilling this arduous task.

For your guarded heart it just wasn’t possible.

 

So I had no choice but to let you go.

I smiled and waved goodbye.

I could never let you know

how much for you at nights I’d cry.

 

The thought still strikes me every day.

You were the one that got away.

2 thoughts on “The One That Got Away

Leave a Reply

